Skip To Content
Dementia: Overview and Diagnosis is a Course

Dementia: Overview and Diagnosis


Sorry! The enrollment period is currently closed. Please check back soon.

Full course description




Self-Paced; 1 ½ Hours





What you'll learn:

This module will describe common symptoms in the syndrome of dementia, outline the diagnostic process, designate the four most common types of dementia, summarize the stages of dementia, and review current and future treatment trends.

Learning Objectives:

  • Describe common symptoms in the syndrome of dementia
  • Name four of the most common types of dementia
  • Outline the diagnostic process for dementia
  • Summarize the “stages” of dementia
  • Review current and future treatments

This is one of five modules in the Caring for Person’s with Alzheimer’s disease and Other Related Dementias and their Families Across the Continuum of Care Series. The overall purpose of the series is to increase the knowledge and skills of nursing and other health care professionals to enable them to facilitate optimal dementia care and family support during all stages of the illness.

This series was made possible by funding from the John A. Hartford Foundation and Virginia G. Piper Charitable Trust.

What you’ll do:

Self-paced voice-enhanced PowerPoint presentations, videos, interactive learning activities, references, call to action, post-test and evaluation.

Who is this course designed for:

Nurses and health care providers in clinical and academic settings. Content may also be of interest and helpful for patients, family members, caregivers and the general public.

What you’ll receive:

Verification of Completion stating title of course and number of hours to complete.

No continuing nursing education contact hours are provided for this course.